Faculty and Staff

Preschool Faculty Three and four year olds

Lower School Faculty K-3

Middle School Faculty 4-8

Academic Specialists

  • Dana Baker

  • Clara Buckley

  • Nathan Johnson

  • Gary Lawrence

  • Zachary Licato

  • Joan Isaacs Litman

  • Aiko Mauldin

  • Zachary Nordling

  • Kirsten Oddo

  • Tania Oro-Hahn

  • Jessica Smith

Administrative Staff

Support & Enrichment Staff

After School Staff

Clara Buckley

cbuckley@mustardseedschool.org Preschool Faculty Co-Teacher, Rivers Class Academic Specialists Middle School Art; STEAM Education Manchester Metropolitan University; University of London

Sarah Chalmers

schalmers@mustardseedschool.org Preschool Faculty Drama Teacher; Assistant Teacher, Sky Class Education Eastern Michigan University

Nancy Aberg

naberg@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Assistant Teacher, First Grade Education University of California Santa Barbara

Becca Brasser

bbrasser@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Co-Teacher, First Grade; First Grade Team Leader Education Calvin College; New Jersey City University

Rachel Buys

rbuys@mustardseedschool.org Middle School Faculty Sixth Grade Literature, Language Arts, Math Education Covenant College

Dana Baker

dbaker@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Learning Specialist Grades Nest to Grade 3; Agnes and Peter Steenland Memorial Chair for Professional Development Education Calvin College; Bank Street College

Thomas Postema

tpostema@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Head of School Education Calvin College; Columbia University

Betty Ciarlo

bciarlo@mustardseedschool.org Support & Enrichment Staff Counselor

Andi Gunden

After School Staff Flute

Tony Huang

After School Staff Violin / Piano

Nathan Johnson

njohnson@mustardseedschool.org Preschool Faculty Lead Teacher, Trees Class Academic Specialists Lower School Art Education Lenoir-Rhyne University

Kristen Jordan

kjordan@mustardseedschool.org Preschool Faculty Lead Teacher, Sky Class Education Harvard College; Teachers College at Columbia University

Amy Kadota

ahitotsubashi@mustardseedschool.org Preschool Faculty Assistant Teacher, Trees Class Education Yale University; Teachers College, Columbia University

Cinthia Santos

csantos@mustardseedschool.org Preschool Faculty Assistant Teacher Rivers Class Lower School Faculty Assistant Teacher Kindergarten

Emily Sytsma

esytsma@mustardseedschool.org Preschool Faculty Co-Teacher, Rivers Class Administrative Staff Lower School Assistant Director; Coleman Fung Chair for Creativity and Design Education Syracuse University; Webster University

Bridget Faley

bfaley@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Co-Teacher, Kindergarten Education St. Mary’s College, Notre Dame, IN

Dorota Chester

dchester@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Assistant Teacher, First Grade Education University of Warsaw

Gabriel Cuervo

gcuervo@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Assistant Teacher, Kindergarten

Amy de Jong

adejong@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Lead Teacher, Second/Third Grade Education Calvin College

Emma Healey

ehealey@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Lead Teacher, First Grade Education SUNY at Brockport; CUNY

Kim Knoester

kknoester@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Lead Teacher, Kindergarten Education Calvin College

Cindy Kuperus

ckuperus@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Lead Teacher Second/Third Grade; Second/Third Grade Team Leader Education Calvin College; Michigan State University

Sam Martino

smartino@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Assistant Teacher, Second/Third Grade Education Fordham University

Jen Paffenroth

jpaffenroth@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Lead Teacher, Second/Third Grade Education Covenant College

Leonor Silva

lsilva@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Co-Lead, Kindergarten Education Escola Superior de Educação Paula Frassinetti; Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

Kate Streelman

kstreelman@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Co-Teacher, First Grade Education Calvin College

Zandi Sutton

Lower School Faculty Assistant Teacher, Second/Third Grade Education Durban University of Technology

Heather Welesko

hwelesko@mustardseedschool.org Lower School Faculty Assistant Teacher, Second/Third Grade Education Shippensburg University; School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Sam Choi

schoi@mustardseedschool.org Middle School Faculty Science, History, and Ethics, Sixth to Eighth Grades Education University of California

Elizabeth Decker

edecker@mustardseedschool.org Middle School Faculty Language Arts, Seventh and Eighth Grades Education Calvin College

Melissa McCallihan

mmccallihan@mustardseedschool.org Middle School Faculty Lead Teacher, Fourth/Fifth Grade Education University of Arizona; University of Idaho

Kirsten Oddo

koddo@mustardseedschool.org Middle School Faculty Lead Teacher, Fourth/Fifth Grade Academic Specialists Student Support Services, Grades Six to Eight Education Rutgers University

Elizabeth Emma Rachuri

eemma@mustardseedschool.org Middle School Faculty Lead Teacher, Fourth/Fifth Grade; Instructional Support Education Pace University; Pace University

Gary Lawrence

glawrence@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Coleman Fung Chair for Mathematics; Teacher of Pre-Algebra and Algebra Administrative Staff Director of Finance and Operations Education Brown University

Zachary Licato

zlicato@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Physical Education and Health, Student Support Fourth/Fifth Grades Education William Paterson University

Joan Isaacs Litman

jlitman@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Artist-in-Residence Education University of Georgia; Capital University; Kodály Center of America

Aiko Mauldin

amauldin@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Coleman Fung Chair for Music; Director of Songsters, Choristers and Music Educator for Grades K-5 After School Staff Director of the PROS (Percussion, Recorder, Orff, Servants) Education Manhattan School of Music; San Francisco Conservatory of Music; New York University

Zachary Nordling

znordling@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Lower School Art and Math; Shared Space Coordinator Education Calvin College

Tania Oro-Hahn

torohahn@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Spanish, Grades Two through Eighth, Worship Leader Kindergarten through Eighth Grade Education Rutgers University; New Jersey City University

Jessica Smith

jsmith@mustardseedschool.org Academic Specialists Music Teacher, Grades 6-8; Worship Coordinator After School Staff Chorus Education University of Houston; University of Missouri-Kansas City; Ithaca College

Reynaldo Barrera

rbarrera@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Facilities Manager

Abigail Hall Choi

achoi@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Middle School Assistant Director Education Covenant College; Teachers College, Columbia University

Andrew Decker

adecker@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Development Associate Education Calvin College

Ellen Francois

efrancois@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Director of Development Education SUNY at Oswego; Franciscan School of Theology

Lisa Galarza

lgalarza@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Middle School Director Education Florida Atlantic University; Walden University

Jennifer Gautier

jgautier@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Office Manager Education Montclair State College; New York University

Abigail Liu

aliu@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Associate Director of Communications Education Middlebury College

Abby Liu’s passionate about telling the Mustard Seed story.  She’s the parent of a Mustard Seed alum and a current student, so she’s seen firsthand the arc of the MSS education from preschool through eighth grade. She loves walking through Farmers Markets; they remind her of her native Vermont.

Nancy Michael

nmichael@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Administrative Associate Education University of Wisconsin-Madison; University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Gloria Miltner

gmiltner@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff School Secretary

Sebastian Olukun

solukun@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Business Administrator Education Rutgers University; Full Sail University

Shanna Pargellis

spargellis@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Lower School Director (preK-Third Grade) Education Calvin College; Bank Street College

Michele Boerman Postema

mpostema@mustardseedschool.org Administrative Staff Director of Admissions and Community Relations Education Calvin College

Judith Schteingart

Support & Enrichment Staff Counselor Education Brandeis University (BA); New York University (MA, PhD)

Matt Lepek

After School Staff Flute / Clarinet / Saxophone

Ayako Morino

After School Staff Piano

Phil Newman

After School Staff Guitar

Yukiko Tanaka

After School Staff Piano
Back to top